delhi: Independence Day: Delhi LG dedicates 16 parks renamed in honour of unsung heroes


Sixteen parks in Delhi bearing the names of a number of unsung heroes of the liberty wrestle have been devoted by Lt Governor V Okay Saxena on the 76th Independence Day. At an occasion to be held on Monday as a part of the ‘Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav’, Saxena unveiled a plaque of ‘Lala Hardayal Park’ at Jasola and symbolically devoted the remaining parks positioned throughout the town, officers stated.

‘Lala Hardayal Park’ was earlier often called “District Park, Jasola”, they stated.

A listing of 16 parks had been despatched by the DDA to the Delhi authorities a couple of months in the past for naming them after freedom fighters like Lala Hardayal, Colonel Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon, Common Shah Nawaz Khan, Gobind Behari Lal, Colonel Prem Sahgal and Basanta Kumar Biswas amongst others, officers had stated.

These parks have been to be named after unsung freedom fighters from Delhi as a mark of respect and recognition to their sacrifices, they’d stated.

DDA officers on Sunday stated, District Park, R-Block, Larger Kailash-I has been named as “Asaf Ali Park”; District Park, Sector-B, Vasant Kunj as “Avadh Behari Park”; District Park at Jasola as “Lala Hardayal Park”; District Park, Lok Vihar, Pitampura as “Colonel Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon Park”; and District Park, Sector-11, Dwarka as “Swami Shraddhanand Park”, amongst others.


Supply hyperlink