I-Day: Delhi LG dedicates 16 parks renamed in honour of unsung heroes


On Independence Day, 16 parks in Delhi bearing the names of a number of unsung heroes of the liberty wrestle have been devoted by Lt Governor V Okay Saxena who mentioned the step was an try and etch their names in an ”in any other case lopsided historic narrative”. At an occasion on Monday as a part of the ‘Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav’, Saxena unveiled a plaque of ‘Lala Hardayal Park’ at Jasola and symbolically devoted the remaining parks situated throughout town, officers mentioned. ‘Lala Hardayal Park’ was earlier often known as ”District Park, Jasola”, they mentioned. A listing of 16 parks had been despatched by the DDA to the Delhi authorities a couple of months in the past for naming them after freedom fighters like Lala Hardayal, Colonel Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon, Normal Shah Nawaz Khan, Gobind Behari Lal, Colonel Prem Sahgal and Basanta Kumar Biswas amongst others, officers had mentioned. These parks have been to be named after unsung freedom fighters from Delhi as a mark of respect and recognition to their sacrifices, that they had mentioned. DDA officers on Sunday mentioned District Park, R-Block, Higher Kailash-I has been named as ‘Asaf Ali Park’; District Park, Sector-B, Vasant Kunj as ‘Avadh Behari Park’; District Park at Jasola as ‘Lala Hardayal Park’; District Park, Lok Vihar, Pitampura as ‘Colonel Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon Park’; and District Park, Sector-11, Dwarka as ‘Swami Shraddhanand Park’ and Park no. 27, Sector 11, Dwarka, as ‘Deenbandhu C. F. Andrews Park’, amongst others. The Delhi LG later additionally tweeted concerning the occasion and shared a couple of footage.

”Devoted 16 @official_dda Parks to the reminiscence of unsung / forgotten Heroes of our Freedom Wrestle. These Parks named after nice Sons & Daughter of Mom India are a small tribute to their reminiscence and an try and etch their names in an in any other case lopsided historic narrative,” he tweeted.

In an announcement, the DDA these are massive parks and are distributed throughout Delhi. Numerous individuals go to these parks day-after-day for recent air and good well being, it mentioned.

”The concept of naming these parks after unsung heroes of freedom wrestle is to make the present and coming generations extra conscious of the contribution of the nice individuals who sacrificed their lives to allow us inherit an Unbiased nation,” the city physique mentioned. Manoj Tiwari, MP North East Delhi; Ramesh Biddhuri, MP South Delhi; Gautam Gambhir, MP East Delhi; DDA Vice Chairman Manish Kumar Gupta and authority member Vijender Gupta have been additionally current on the event. ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ is an initiative of the federal government to rejoice and commemorate 75 years of the Independence and the fantastic historical past of its individuals, the tradition and its achievements.

”This Mahotsav is devoted to the individuals of India who haven’t solely been instrumental in bringing India to date in its evolutionary journey but in addition maintain inside them the facility and potential to allow Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s imaginative and prescient of activating India 2.0, fuelled by the spirit of ‘Aatmanirbhar Bharat’,” it mentioned.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse workers and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


Supply hyperlink